Introduction

This website features information about the Review, as well as opportunities to actively participate. Global Affairs Canada has contracted International Financial Consulting Ltd. (the “Review team”) to undertake the review on its behalf.

Public engagement is central to the Review and the review process is designed to be transparent, relevant, inclusive, accountable and flexible. You can submit written comments and liaise with the Review team to discuss issues of interest.

Material produced by the review team will be posted on this website in both official languages. Material provided by the public and stakeholders will be posted in the language in which it is submitted.

Note: Deadline for submissions is November 9, 2018.

Background

Every 10 years, the Minister of International Trade must initiate, as per the Export Development Act, a review of EDC's mandate and activities, in consultation with the Minister of Finance. The purpose of the Review is to assess the provisions and operation of the Export Development Act, and whether the legislative, regulatory and policy framework remains relevant.

The Review supports the statutory obligation, and will assess EDC’s ongoing evolution and its capacity to keep pace with the competitive dynamics and demands of international trade. The last review was conducted in 2008.

Public consultations

A key component of the legislative review is listening to the public. The Review team is eager to hear your views. All interested citizens and parties are encouraged to provide input to help to ensure that the Review is transparent and inclusive.

There are many ways to express your views and to engage with the Review team. Through the Participate section of this website, for example, you can submit comments, upload position papers, post information, ask questions and request meetings with the Review team. You can also comment on the Review via Twitter. Please contact the Review team to share any information that you believe is relevant.

Contact

If you wish to contact the Review Team, you can reach us at consultations@edc2018.ca and we will get back to you within 24 hours.

Team Leader, Review Team
Diana Smallridge
Stakeholder Liaison, Review Team
Glen Hodgson
Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development
Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development

The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (renamed Global Affairs Canada) manages Canada’s diplomatic and consular relations, promotes the country’s international trade and leads Canada’s international development and humanitarian assistance.

International Financial Consulting Ltd.
International Financial Consulting Ltd.

International Financial Consulting Ltd. is a leading international consulting firm specializing in financial services in support of trade, investment and development. We are recognized global experts in the area of export credit systems and institutions, and count an unrivaled track record of successfully implemented projects with export credit agencies worldwide.

Introduction

Ce site Web fournit de l’information sur le contexte de l’examen et, également, l’occasion de participer à cet examen. Affaires mondiales Canada a retenu les services d’International Financial Consulting Ltd. (l’« équipe de l’examen ») pour mener l’examen en son nom.

L’engagement des intervenants est d’importance capitale à l’examen et la démarche de l’examen est structurée de manière à être transparente, pertinente, inclusive, redevable et flexible. Vous pouvez soumettre des commentaires écrits et communiquer avec l’équipe de l’examen pour discuter de questions d’intérêt.

Les documents que produira l’équipe de l’examen seront publiés sur ce site Web, en français et en anglais. Les documents que remettront le grand public et les intervenants seront affichés dans la langue de soumission.

Mise à jour : Le rapport du Ministre sur l’Examen législatif 2018 d’EDC a été déposé au Parlement le 20 juin 2019. Comme prochaine étape du processus de l’examen, le Parlement étudiera le rapport.

Contexte

Le ministre du Commerce international, en consultation avec le ministre des Finances, doit procéder tous les dix ans à un examen du mandat et des activités d’EDC en vertu de la Loi sur le développement des exportations. L’examen vise à évaluer les dispositions et l’exécution de la Loi sur le développement des exportations et à déterminer si le cadre législatif, réglementaire et stratégique demeure pertinent.

L’examen appuie cette obligation législative, et évaluera l’évolution continue d’EDC et sa capacité à s’aligner sur la dynamique et les demandes concurrentielles du commerce international. Le dernier examen a été réalisé en 2008.

Consultations publiques

Un élément très important de l’examen législatif est d’écouter le public. L’équipe de l’examen est impatiente de connaître vos commentaires. Nous accueillons les commentaires de tous les citoyens ou groupes intéressés afin de veiller à ce que la démarche de l’examen soit transparente et inclusive.

Vous pouvez exprimer vos opinions et dialoguer avec l’équipe de l’examen de diverses manières. Dans la section Participez du site Web, par exemple, vous pouvez soumettre des commentaires, télécharger des exposés de position, afficher de l’information, poser des questions et demander des rencontres avec l’équipe de l’examen. Vous pouvez aussi fournir des commentaires sur l’examen en utilisant Twitter. N’hésitez pas à contacter l’équipe de l’examen pour communiquer toute information que vous estimez pertinente.

Contact

Si vous désirez contacter l’équipe de l’examen, vous pouvez nous joindre à consultations@edc2018.ca. Nous vous répondrons dans les 24 heures.

Chef d’équipe, Équipe de l’examen
Diana Smallridge
Liaison avec les intervenants, Équipe de l’examen
Glen Hodgson
Ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement
Ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (rebaptisé Affaires mondiales Canada) gère les relations diplomatiques et consulaires du Canada, fait la promotion du commerce international du pays et dirige le développement international et l’aide humanitaire du Canada.

International Financial Consulting Ltd.
International Financial Consulting Ltd.

International Financial Consulting Ltd. est une société de consultation internationale de premier plan, spécialisée dans les services financiers à l'appui du commerce, de l'investissement et du développement. Nous sommes des experts mondiaux reconnus dans le domaine des systèmes de crédit à l'exportation et des institutions, et nous avons réalisé un nombre inégalé de projets mis en œuvre avec succès avec des organismes de crédit à l'exportation du monde entier.